Exploring Microsoft SQL Server System Databases

by Dec 16, 2014

The Microsoft SQL Server System comprises of four key System Databases

  1. master
  2. model
  3. msdb and
  4. tempdb

The following table outlines the key points


System database


master Database

Records all the system-level information for an instance of SQL Server.

msdb Database

Is used by SQL Server Agent for scheduling alerts and jobs. 

model Database

Is used as the template for all databases created on the instance of SQL Server. Modifications made to the model database, such as database size, collation, recovery model, and other database options, are applied to any databases created afterward.

Resource Database

Is a read-only database that contains system objects that are included with SQL Server. System objects are physically persisted in the Resource database, but they logically appear in the sys schema of every database.

tempdb Database

Is a workspace for holding temporary objects or intermediate result sets.

[Source: MSDN]

For more information you can visit